What is the currency of Kosovo

The euro outside of Europe

Canary Islands (Spain)

The Canaries are an archipelago in the Atlantic. This autonomous community of Spain is what is known as the outermost region of the EU. The islands are not geographically part of Europe, but they are part of the euro area.

Ceuta and Melilla (Spain)

Ceuta and Melilla are two autonomous Spanish cities on the north coast of Africa, separated from mainland Spain by the Mediterranean Sea. Since they belong to Spain, they are part of the EU and have the euro as their currency.

Azores and Madeira (Portugal)

The Azores and Madeira in the Atlantic are autonomous regions of Portugal. Like the Canary Islands, they are the “outermost regions” of the EU and therefore part of the euro area.

Mayotte and Réunion (France)

Mayotte and Réunion are two islands in the Indian Ocean west and east of Madagascar, respectively. Both are French overseas departments and “outermost regions” of the EU. Your currency is therefore the euro.

St. Pierre and Miquelon (France)

The group of islands east of the Canadian coast is a French overseas territory, i. H. St. Pierre and Miquelon belong to France, but not to the European Union. Based on an agreement with the EU, they are allowed to use the euro.

French Guiana

French Guiana is a French overseas department on the northern Atlantic coast of South America. As part of France, French Guiana is an “outermost region” of the EU and therefore part of the euro area.

French islands in the Caribbean

The Caribbean islands of Guadeloupe and Martinique are French overseas departments and therefore part of the EU. Saint Martin has been a French overseas territory since 2007, but is still part of the European Union. The overseas regional authority St. Barthélemy does not belong to the European Union, but has signed a currency agreement with it on the use of the euro.

Micro-states in Europe

The European micro-states Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and Vatican City do not belong to the EU. But since they have signed currency agreements with the EU, they are allowed to use the euro as the official currency. You also have the right to issue a limited number of euro coins with a country-specific motif.

Kosovo and Montenegro

The Balkan states Kosovo and Montenegro do not belong to the EU. Since the two countries unilaterally introduced the euro in 2002, it has been the de facto national currency there. This means that although the euro is not legal tender there, the population treats it that way. Before 2002, the D-Mark was used in both countries.