Is barley gluten free
The gluten-free diet
A gluten-free or gliadin-free diet is a diet without certain proteins from the grains
WHEAT, RYE and BARLEY as well as their origins and crossings, e.g. TRITICALE, DINKEL, GREENKERN, KAMUT, EINKORN, EMMER etc. OATS are explained below.
The gluten gliadin contained in wheat flour and similar proteins in the other cereals mentioned above must be strictly avoided for life in celiac disease. The collective name of all proteins from the cereals mentioned, which are harmful for people with celiac disease, is "gluten".
Gluten is contained in:
Food made from the cereals listed above: flour, semolina, couscous, pearl wheat, ebly, bulgur, groats, grits, flakes, bran, sprouted cereals, bread, pastries, crumbs, pasta, dumplings, cakes, biscuits, waffles, etc.
Malt and beverages containing malt: beer, cocoa powder with malt (e.g. Ovaltine), malt coffee, etc.
Consider the many uses of gluten-containing ingredients in processed foods and therefore always read the list of ingredients on the food packaging.
The following are gluten-free:
All other unprocessed foods: corn, rice, wild rice, millet, brown millet, teff, buckwheat, amaranth, quinoa, canihua, soy, sesame, flaxseed, chestnut flour, locust bean gum, lupine flour, guar gum, arrowroot flour, kuzu, tapioca, manioc, sago , Banana flour, potatoes, vegetables, legumes, fruit, nuts, milk, eggs, meat, fish, poultry, fats, oils etc.
Only buy flours or semolina of the aforementioned gluten-free cereals that are certified with the international gluten-free symbol, as the contamination with gluten-containing cereals from the same milling and packaging systems is very high for milled products.
OATS contains only a tenth of the protein (avenin) compared to wheat (gliadin), so most people who are gluten intolerant can tolerate uncontaminated oats. Especially with oats and oat products, e.g. oat flakes, the contamination with wheat and barley is particularly high. In studies, contamination of oats with wheat and barley gluten was measured up to 8,000 mg / kg, i.e. a 400-fold excess of the limit value. These values certainly lead to serious damage to health. This is why the oat products that are widely available must never be consumed by people with celiac disease, only those certified gluten-free.
A lot of information can be found in the 700-page Celiac Disease Handbook, which all members receive free of charge.
In addition, we provide information in the manual on food labeling, gluten-free dietary foods, foods for general consumption, contamination, wheat starch, modified starches, grain products, baking ingredients, binders, potato products, nuts, kernels, seeds, meat products, dairy products, fats, oils, soups and seasonings , Spices, spice blends, jam, honey, sugar, confectionery, ice cream, malt, soft drinks, alcoholic beverages, additives, contamination, lactose intolerance, fructose malabsorption and living on a gluten-free diet.
More information from the respective contact persons
Please get in touch with the respective contact person in your federal state!
- Should I visit Nome or Barrow Alaska
- Which singer has the best vocal range
- Are exams at RVCE more difficult
- Twitter can read its users direct messages
- What are the facts about security issues
- Astrophysicists ever go into space
- Why do expats move to Bahrain
- What are the problems with urban sprawl
- How is social engineering successful
- What hobbies require a lot of patience
- How do you play Keharwa Taal
- RFID is an old technology
- What's in Hyde Park Ingleside
- Why should a student choose Whittier College?
- Can you see Pole Star in Australia
- Where can I find ear plugs
- Which is better Notepad or MS Word
- What is a holystic concept in marketing
- What do you miss about Michael Masiello
- Why did Ramsay Bolton kill Walda Frey
- What is a peer
- What is outside of infinity
- Who is Firon How did he die
- Can land a 747 without engines